Priyanka win Star Screen Awards


The 14th Annual Star Screen Awards
Mumbai, Jan 10: The 14th Annual Star Screen Awards were announced in a shimmering Bollywood song and dance ceremony here on Thursday night. The awards were captured by the Khans as Shah Rukh Khan’s Chak de, India! and Aamir’s Tare Zameen Par topped various categories.

However, it was a tie for the Best Director's Award between Shimit Amin for Chak De! India and Aamir Khan for Taare Zameen Par.

This year’s event saw some of 2007's top films like Taare Zameen Par, Chak De India, Life…In a Metro, Om Shanti Om and Guru vying for the top honours. 

Taare Zameen Par bagged six key awards including Best Director (Aamir Khan), Best Story (Amol Gupte), Best Child Actor (Darsheel), Best Lyricist (Prasoon Joshi), Best Dialogue and Best Supporting Actor (Aamir Khan).

Mani Ratnam's Guru earned AR Rahman the Best Music Director Award. The Best Actress Award went to Kareena Kapoor for Jab We Met.

Shah Rukh Khan performed his Dard-e-Disco number from Om Shanti Om while Shahid Kapur, Katrina Kaif, Urmila Matondkar, Riteish Deshmukh and Dia Mirza shook a leg to the year’s chartbusters at the award ceremony, which was hosted by ace compere and Heyy Babyy director Sajid Khan.

Shah Rukh also won the honour of Best Pair along with Deepika Padukone, who also carried a second trophy for the Best Newcomer (Female). The Best Newcomer (Male) Award went to Ranbir Kapoor. Irfan Khan bagged the Best Comedian Award for Life…In a Metro while Anurag Basu won the Best Screenplay Award for the same film.

The Star Screen Lifetime Achievement Award went to Manoj Kumar. Pankaj Kapoor bagged the Award for Best Negative Role for while Chak De girls shared the honour for Best Supporting Role (female). 

Singer Soham won the Award for the Best Playback Singer (Male) for his soulful rendition of in the film Life…In a Metro while Priya Ghosal was adjudged Best Playback Singer (female) for Guru. 

Best Film:Chak de, India! 
Best Director: Shimit Amin (Chak de) and Aamir Khan (TZP)
Best Actor: Shah Rukh Khan (Chak de)
Best Actress: Kareena Kapoor (Jab We Met)
Best Music Director: AR Rehman (Guru)
Best Actor in a negative role: Pankaj Kapoor (The Blue Umbrella)
Best Newcomer male: Ranbir Kapoor (Saawariya)
Best Actor in a Comic role: Irfan Khan (Metro)
Best Supporting Actress: ‘Chak de’ girls
Best Child Actor:Darshil Safary
Best Female Playback Singer:Shreya Ghoshal
Best Screenplay: Anurag Basu

Ace compere and director of the blockbuster hit Heyy Babyy, Sajid Khan, would be hosting the 14th Annual Star Screen Awards to be held on January 10 in Mumbai. Shreyas Talpade and Saagarika Ghatge will also share the stage with Sajid.

The Star Screen awards which are usually among the first few award functions of the year are in their 14th year running. This year’s event sees some of 2007’s top films like Taare Zameen Par, Chak De India, Life…In a Metro, Om Shanti Om and Guru vying for the top honours. 

“I have lost 19 kgs for my grand performance on Saawariya’s title song. Then Shreyas and I would be seen emulating the Chak De India girls. Another notable thing about this year’s event is that the script has been written by Milap Zaveri who has penned films like Masti and Pyare Mohan”, says Sajid Khan in his trademark humorous way. 

With such an entertaining line-up of acts, this event will surely be one rollicking affair



Press Information 

Copyright © 1998-2001 Live India Internet Services! All rights reserved
( The Trade Marks Act, 1999, No. 01403086. User Since : 01/04/1997 )

Legal Information
All rights reserved. No part of this publication and other sites of under may be transmitted or reproduced in any form or by any means without prior permission from the publisher Live India Internet Services or Rajesh Chopra, L.C.Premium Cables, 1826, Amar Nath 2nd Building, Bhagirath Palace Delhi - 110006, India. or Mr.Rajesh Chopra is not responsible for any wrong information under this site, For confirmation of any information it is recomended that you can reconfirm from yours end.

Latest World News and Current Topics with Comments from Rajesh Chopra - Editor in Chief of